a little c

because I refuse to give it a big one

grace and a lot of luck

Posted by wendy on 2011/10/01

It’s my birthday and seriously, as birthdays go?  This one has pretty much beaten them all in terms of getting off to a stellar start.    I’ve mentioned today to a few people that I’m running out of words and the ability to really articulate how overwhelmed and grateful I feel today and I’m starting to regret that I didn’t work on a birthday post over the last week so that I could at least write with a fairly clear head.  Instead, you’re going to get what may or may not amount to a great deal of disjointed rambling with about a million “thanks yous” thrown in for good measure.

The old ones tried to kill me. I hope these two will play nice.

The 10th Annual Boobiethon kicks off today, and they’ve chosen me to be the Bloggers Helping Bloggers charity recipient.  I’m…oy.  I mean, most of you guys know my history already, and I’m all weepy over this today.  If you’ve come here from the Boobiethon page, thank you.  From the bottom of my heart, thank you.  And, here is the thing–whether you choose to donate to Komen or if you’ve chosen to toss a few bucks my way, just the fact that you’re here and you’re reading this makes me feel..see, here is where I run out of words.  Every time.  I am humbled and honored and so happy and grateful to have such an amazing support system.  My cup is just running over today.

I’ve said it before–my friends, my family, they are where I get my strength.  I have been so lucky this past year–okay, getting cancer and getting laid off were not exactly Kodak moments for me (ha!)…but, how can I feel bitter when so many good things have also come my way?  I’m alive.  I lived through it all and when I fell down, I had someone there to pick me up and I want to thank my friends and my family and my son and my amazing boyfriend and Pip the Therapy Dog and Emma the Spazzy German Shepherd and the people who’ve donated to my paypal account or friends who bought prints and friends who said they knew I needed help and wanted to give it, the women who knitted me beautiful hats to wear when I didn’t have any hair on my head, and the Flickr friends who chipped in and sent me an awesome digital frame full of dorky pictures just to make me laugh, and the Thursday People at the Cancer Clinic, for making chemo feel more like a Coffee Klatch than a treatment center, the survivors who’ve helped me realize that there is more to life than cancer and the fighters who’ve contacted me because something I wrote hit a nerve with them as well–and I definitely want to thank the doctors and surgeons who saw to both my emotional health as well as my physical health.  I lucked out, because the team I had behind me gave me every reason to believe that I’d sail through this.

Every single one of you have contributed to making me a better and stronger person.  Every one of you gives me something to look forward to when I wake up and I am so grateful for the moments of grace that you have given me.   Thank you.  Thank you.  I am having one of those moments of grace this morning and it is because of each one of you.

Thank you.

Now, on a VERY serious note–someone needs to get me some cake.  Because it’s nearly lunch and I have yet to see some chocolate around this house.  I would hate for lack of chocolate to ruin this state of grace I have going on.  :p

3 Responses to “grace and a lot of luck”

  1. The Big C over here is wishing The Little C over there a peaceful, happy, healthful and unremarkable (in a good way) kind of year ahead. Happy Birthday, Wendy! Enjoy that cake! ;-)

  2. Devious said

    That is awesomesauce.

  3. Lauren said

    you are da princess extrordinaire!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 225 other followers

