a little c

because I refuse to give it a big one

The Bubble Gum Struggle

Posted by wendy on 2012/02/03

I was writing this post earlier this morning, and planning to finish it some time today–but, I’m going to go ahead and hit ‘publish’.  As many of you already know–Komen has ‘amended‘ their policy.  So, you know…victory!  Victory that still has a tinge and a taste of something very, very bitter.  (I said on my friend Carrie’s wall today that I kind of wish Planned Parenthood was in a position to be all “Yeah, we don’t need you.  TTFN!” Sadly, that’s not realistic.  But, it would be really really cool.)  So, Komen hasn’t reversed their decision, but they have amended it.  I think this will bear watching closely over the coming months, because I suspect they will try this again…but in a less public manner the next time.

My favorite part of  the statement released by Komen is below:

It is our hope and we believe it is time for everyone involved to pause, slow down and reflect on how grants can most effectively and directly be administered without controversies that hurt the cause of women.  We urge everyone who has participated in this conversation across the country over the last few days to help us move past this issue.   [Komen]

You know what that translates to?

Please stop being mean to us now.

You know, if there is a demographic of people that you do NOT want to piss off, it is the cancer survivor/fighter demographic.  We have already had enough bullshit rain down on our heads, thankyouverymuch.  If you try to rain more, we will kick you to the curb and we will not be delicate about it.  And, I suspect that many of us will not be won back.  I will never give Komen my trust–or my money–again.  I’ve seen what they’re hiding under their expensive pink skirt, and those knickers are NOT pretty.

Before, I go on, I saw this amazing video today on youtube and you need to go watch it RIGHT NOW before you read another word I’ve written here, because she says something relevant to what I’m about to say.  (Also, it’s brilliant and powerful.)  Go.  Go!  I’ll wait.

Now, grab a tissue and wipe your eyes (because your mascara is running everywhere) and we’ll get back to my blog post.

“Breast cancer is not a pink ribbon.”

This is not Komen pink--this is Wendy Pink.

Maaaan.  There’s my dilemma!  Because Komen co-opted one of my favorite colors, ever.

I like pink.  I have always liked pink. I also like P!nk–but this isn’t about the kind of music I listen to when my Spotify playlist is on private.  (Don’t judge me!!)  But, the thing is–once you’re diagnosed with breast cancer, you are surrounded in pink.  You are swathed in cotton-candy flavored spiderwebs of pink from head to toe.  And, suddenly that cute pink ipod you bought two years ago becomes a symbol of your “fight”.  Which, kind of sucks, because you’re all “dude, I just thought it was pretty.”.  It seems like I am constantly explaining the pink in my life.   Breast cancer has been wrapped up in a pretty, pretty pink bow and now I feel like a walking cliche when I put on my favorite sweater (it’s pink) or the gorgeous charm bracelet that M gave me (pink beads–given before my diagnosis.  Why?  BECAUSE I LIKE PINK!  gah!).  And, now with all the Komen hoopla over the past few days, I’m really feeling the irony.

My scars are pink and they swirl around my chest and under my arms  like angry little ribbons, so okay, maybe a little bit of my pink is cancer-related.  But, that’s the only pink that cancer gave me.  The rest of the pink is here by choice.  And, while I will never purchase a bucket of KFC chicken with a pink Komen ribbon on it, I’m not going to let Komen co-opt my love of cute girly things. It’ll take some finagling, because the amount of pink things that Komen HASN’T slapped their brand on is indeed a small one, but I’m a resourceful girl. And, I’m not giving up my pink wig.  Cause it’s super cute.

Donate:  Breast Cancer Action / Planned Parenthood

11 Responses to “The Bubble Gum Struggle”

  1. Reblogged this on ihavebreastcancerblog and commented:
    Love this! Give it a read!

  2. Sarah said

    Holy shit, Wendy, have you seen this? SGK just promoted a PINK FUCKING GUN. Yes. Seriously.

    http://gawker.com/5881982/susan-g-komen-foundation-kicks-off-pr-rehab-by-promoting-pink-handguns

  3. I happen to still like pink too. I refuse to give up on “pink” entirely too. I’m feeling a bit exhausted by all that’s transpired this week. And of course, you’re exactly right, it really wasn’t a reversal but an amendment. And I also think you’re right that the statement really meant, “please stop being mean to us now.” At least Komen is more aware than ever that we are “watching” them. Once again a great post. And the video was really something too.

  4. Well said, Wendy and well said and shown ‘LindainLasVegas’. Pinks not wrong, it’s just not right enough. But Komen, by the looks of it, are simply wrong.

  5. Kathi Kolb said

    P!nk is my all-time favorite pink. Except maybe for the peonies in my garden each spring.

    Otherwise, if Komen thinks we’re buying this, I’ve got news for them. Because there will be a next time. There’s always a next time with Big Stinky Pink.

    Taking my nap now…xoxo

    • wendy said

      hee. Yeah, I think we all just collectively raised our eyebrows and went “riiiiiiight.” pfft. Big Stinky Pink is such an excellent moniker. P!nk!!!!

  6. Susan G. said

    Wendy, I just discovered your blog via Wellness Within. I love the way you write, and our thoughts are very much aligned – but you are so much more articulate than I am. So thank you for saying what you say the way you say it.
    Lots of love….

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 225 other followers

