a little c

because I refuse to give it a big one

what a week.

Posted by wendy on 2011/02/04

It’s been a bit of a crazy week–full of ups and downs.

I got an awesome gift from some Flickr friends who set about to make me laugh (and wound up MAKING ME CRY–in a good way, though, I swear).   Now that I’m calmer about it, it DOES make me laugh.  So much talent on this little sony s-frame, and I’ve got them wearing false teeth and eating cheetos naked and it is AWESOME.  I have the best friends in the world, I think.

The downside is that the Nuelasta shot is catching up with me.  I woke up with a lot of lower back pain yesterday, and I just attributed it to maybe sleeping in a bad position.  But, by the time I laid down last night, it was pretty chronic–across my lower back and down my hips.  It hit me then it might be chemo-related (I’d forgotten about the Nuelasta shot for some reason), so I googled.  It was like a light bulb went off, because OH YEAH.  I got a shot last Friday and they said it could do this.  I woke up in severe pain around 2:30am and broke down and took a pain pill.

I’m a bit concerned about the hits I found that indicate this goes on AFTER chemo, because it really is quite painful.  I’ll have to put the M-filter* to work on it, and when I’m at the clinic next week, I’ll ask.  If the pain only last for a few days, I think it may still be worth it to keep taking the shot so my chemo will be over faster.  If it’s more “chronic condition”, then I am going to consider skipping the shot and going to 3 week intervals. I don’t fancy being in chronic pain the next 4 months.  I think I’ll have enough to deal with.  bah.

I saw my plastic surgeon yesterday and he’s released me and my new breasts into the wooorld by declaring them ‘perfect’ (they ARE!) and telling me to concentrate on getting through my chemo and whathaveyou the next few months, and he’ll send me a letter in 6 months asking me to come in for a check-up.  It is amazing to me how quickly my scars are healing up–and really, if nothing else good comes from this–I got a great rack out of it.  ha!

*The M-filter is my boyfriend, who more or less revoked my google privileges a while back, as I tend to gravitate towards the WORST stories and focus on them.   Google is not my friend when I’m sick.  haha.

3 Responses to “what a week.”

  1. heathre said

    love the M-filter idea – google can be a very BAD friend to have. and in 6 months, you will be running around with your perfect new rack and feeling awesome. sending lots of good mojo your way. xoxo

  2. margaret said

    take the pain meds around the clock when you have them and can. control that pain, woman. (can you tell my mother is a pain researcher? who’s had breast cancer?? 😉

    xo

  3. wendy said

    hahaha–seriously, heathre–google haates me, I think. 😉

    Promise to take my pills, miss margaret (hee–I ❤ your mom)–seriously, I'm setting my alarm now. (which, I did this after my surgeries, too. You'd think I'd have remembered that.)

Leave a Reply

 
