a little c

because I refuse to give it a big one

Ms Cranky McStabbypants

Posted by wendy on 2011/04/11

I cannot decide if my least favorite side effect from the Taxol is the bone pain or the hot flashes.  Perhaps, I’d take either/or, but of course, I’m getting them both at once this weekend and it’s…oh.  Tiresome.   It’s the nature of curing cancer, I suppose.  You change meds, you trade one set of unpleasant side-effects for another set.   I will say that I’ll take the way I feel right now over nausea any day.  I mean, this sucks–but, it’s not debilitating.  (Well, a little–I mean, I’m definitely not up for running around the block, but I could take a careful stroll around the backyard if I needed to.)

I’m doing some reading on ‘chemopause’, but I think I need the M-filter to go to work on it as I keep finding ‘OMGZ IT’S FOUR YEARS LATER AND I STILL HAVE HOT FLASHES!” stories.   I like to read about the happy endings right now.  And, on the ‘happy endings’ note, I have a PSA for the general public:

If you run into me while I’m out and about, please do not approach me and then tell me about your <insert relative or friend’s name here> who fought a long, hard battle <insert lurid details of radiation burns and chemos gone wrong> with <insert type of cancer here> and died <insert the exact date and time said tragic death occurred>.  Seriously, dudes.  GIVE ME A HAPPY ENDING RIGHT NOW, M’KAY?  I’m going to be completely selfish here and say that now is not the time for me to be bonding with total strangers over their losses.  I’m going to be even more selfish and suggest that it’s not cool to remind cancer patients that they have a disease that could kill them.  Cause, we already know.  We do.  Really.  REALLY.   So, you know, the next time you walk up to a profusely sweating bald girl in the supermarket, think before you speak.  Because the hotter I get, the less likely I am to be polite about it.

PS – The hot flashes are making me stabby.  Does it show?

5 Responses to “Ms Cranky McStabbypants”

  1. heathre said

    sometimes people just do not THINK – ugh! and yes, happy endings ONLY!!
    stab away, my dear xoxox

  2. wendy said

    I think some people get verbal diarrhea occasionally. I handle that stuff better when I don’t feel like spontaneous combustion is imminent.

  3. cindybeth said

    Happy Ending: you and me complaining about our hot flashes together over several glasses of wine several years from now. 🙂

  4. Beej said

    Man, any time *I* ask for a happy ending, I get slapped/arrested!

  5. feistybluegecko said

    Waving and beckoning to you from one year after chemo and the worst thing which happened lately was losing a toenail!!

    Lovely to connect with you and look forward to sharing many McStabbypants moments across the planet as you move through the final chemo and beyond, leaving those days further behind.
    Hugs and smiles
    P x

Leave a Reply

 
