a little c

because I refuse to give it a big one

Alive and well

Posted by wendy on 2011/05/02

I have so much to document this week, I don’t know where to start?  Should I make a list?  Use bullet points?  Skip the ‘splainations cause there is too much?

First and foremost–hello, I am alive and well.  Our power came back on after a few days, and within 3 days, I had internet again–I have  a bit of survivor’s guilt about that.  So many here in Alabama lost everything.  There was more or less an information blackout for us here for 24 hours (NONE of my radios worked!  I’ve got to buy one of those crank radios this week.), so while I knew it was bad here–the magnitude of it didn’t hit me at first.   It’s really heartbreaking and horrifying.

Despite all the turmoil around us, my schedule was only minorly disrupted, and since they got power back to the hospitals first, I got to meet my radiologist for the first time on Friday.  The Oncology center in Decatur is neat and clean–and yet again, full of really amazingly compassionate people.  I felt comfortable with my new doctor and her assistant immediately, and she has outlined the scope of my radiation therapy for me.  I will meet with her on May 31 for a simulation and a CAT scan, and then I start 33 rounds of radiation therapy the next week.  It’s Monday – Friday, and will  take around 15 minutes a day.  She mentioned some of the more common side effects–fatigue, tenderness, etc.  I can totally see fatigue–if from nothing else having to drive all the way into Decatur every day for nearly 6 weeks.  Yeesh.

Thursday is my last chemo–I’m so excited and scared and excited and I expect it’s going to be a rollercoaster week for this girl.  M and I have already made celebration plans.  I like that he was with me at the beginning of chemo, and now I’ll be with him at the end.  Symmetry appeals to me.  (and so does he. ha!)

I really do believe the worst is behind me.  I’m heading into radiation with an excellent perspective and a hopeful attitude.  I’m going to rock this out and then get on with my life.  I have things to do, people!  Places to go.  People to see.

One Response to “Alive and well”

  1. TiffyD said

    I’m glad to hear that you made it through the storms in one piece. And that one step in your recovery process has almost come to an end. Congratulations. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
