a little c

because I refuse to give it a big one

Paying it Forward

Posted by wendy on 2011/05/06

This is going to be a quickie, because my Dad came down to be with me for my last chemo, and we’re all heading out into the world to see and do stuff today.

Chemo  #8 went off without a hitch and (due to mixups and denials and then retractions of denials) today I’m off to get my neulasta shot and I don’t even think an all-caps YAY could describe how happy I am about that.  My recovery is so much faster with it.  I don’t go back to the clinic til June, which means I am doc-free until the 31 (Radiology).  Hmmm….whatever shall I do with my time?  😉

I bedazzled my head yesterday to celebrate and it was a big hit at the clinic–I lost count of the number of people who took my picture (good thing I’m not camera-shy at all, eh?).  It was a bittersweet moment when my pump started beeping for the last time, though.  This bit of my fight is over, the next one starts next month–but, I think I am through the hardest times.  That’s a good–yet, really surreal, feeling.

Shiny!

So, after the clinic, we went to my favorite Chinese restaurant for dinner, and had a really lovely meal, all chatting and with me a little bit on cloud 9, I think.  But, the most extraordinary thing happened when our bill came–we all grabbed our fortune cookies (mine was yet another what I like to call “observation cookies”, because “you are full of grace” is not a fortune, that’s just VERY VERY TRUE. ) (What?).  My Dad wanted to buy dinner, so as he was pulling out his credit card, the waitress came by and took the bill and passed Dad a handwritten note.  I’m kicking myself for not remembering the exact quote right now, but it was essentially about the healing power of God–it was just a really nice little reminder for all of us, I think.  So we all read it and smiled (because hellooo, what timing, right?), but then hit HIT US.

Whoever sent that note PAID OUR BILL.  And left.  We have no idea who it was, our waitress was all smiles and completely mysterious (I think she enjoyed the whole thing, too).  You know, it was just the perfect way to end my chemo, I think.  A random act of kindness from a stranger to all of us.  It was marvelous.

I have so many friends who are of so many different faiths–I like to joke that “all my bases are covered” when it comes to beating cancer, because I pretty much have all the major religions behind me–and a few of the non-major ones as well!  😉  I feel blessed on all levels, you know?  I have friends who pray for me, I have friends who don’t pray, but send me love and good vibes across the cosmos, I have friends who light incense for me, and yesterday, a total stranger said a prayer and bought my family lunch.  With all the horror and anger that we’re faced with in the news every day, it’s easy to forget how many amazing, wonderful people there are on this planet.  I’m going to make an effort NOT to forget that again.

My sister gave me a copy of “The Seven Spiritual Laws of Success” by Deepak Chopra, and there is a chapter devoted to giving and receiving.  Essentially, it’s about giving everyone you meet a gift–whether it be a flower, a compliment, or a simple silent blessing or prayer that they receive happiness in their lives.  It’s my favorite chapter in the book, and I read it often.  Because every day that I wake up is a gift.  Life is about love and sharing.  And, I am alive.

8 Responses to “Paying it Forward”

  1. Sarah said

    What a beautiful gesture and what a wonderful way to mark the end of this stage in your recovery!
    Fabulous.
    You are such an inspiration.

  2. wendy said

    It was amazing, Sarah. I keep using that word. hee. But, it just WAS. Maaan, yesterday was good, And, thank you so much. I feel really lucky most of the time–my support system is (amazing?) so widespread and strong.

  3. margaret said

    What a wonderful post to read this morning. It really does sound like the perfect last day of chemo. Congrats, and much love both to you and to whomever cared enough to do something for you. 🙂

  4. Cindy (Beth) said

    and this post was my gift today. beautiful.

  5. Lauren said

    yep – this is my gift today too. wonderful story. I’m gonna do my best to pay it forward to someone…

  6. Joelle said

    That is so awesome. I love random acts of kindness! Mazel on your last chemo, darlin’. xo

  7. Amy Stine said

    Thank you for sharing this story. Such a lovely moment & it has me all misty over here! Congrats on finishing chemo. YOU are amazing!!

  8. minta said

    yes!~.;…i luv when that type of shit happens….=) & i think of you often at the Buddha with all my incense…..lately?…across the universe …all the need for vibes?…i fear i just might burn my house down ! lol
    lookin lurvely missy….

Leave a Reply

 
