a little c

because I refuse to give it a big one

I’ve been dreading this post.

Posted by wendy on 2011/07/21

I really have.  As many of you know, I’m all out of miracles since I lost my job.  I’ve had a couple of people who love me a lot tell me to stick a donation button up here, because there are people who want to help, but aren’t sure how.  I am totally uncomfortable with it.  I mean, to the point that it actually makes me a little nauseated when I consider it.

So, I’ve come up with a bit of a compromise.   Hopefully a way to make a bit of extra money to pay off a few bills and not feel like a charity case.  I am not entirely without skills when it comes to photography.  So, if you’re interested in putting pretty pictures on your walls–or if you just want to help me out, please go here:  shimmyandshake.zenfolio.com and buy one of my prints.

I’m charging $15 for a  5×7 and $25 for an 8×10, which I think is, well…hopefully reasonable, as you will not only get a fabulous print, but you’ll also have an awesome story about what a fabulous philanthropist you are.  Think of the story you’ll have!  Starving artist, stricken by breast cancer, jobless!–and for the low price of $25, you helped her get back on her feet!  Granted, I have ruined the story a bit by staying alive–cause we all know art is worth more once you’re gone and not a single Junior Mint was around when I was in surgery (as far as I know)…but, tragedies are overrated, I think.  I’m working towards a happy ending here.

PS – a little c is now on Facebook!

PSS – If you don’t want to go through zenfolio and prefer to deal directly with me–or you’ve seen a shot elsewhere that you would rather have, you can contact me via email (skittishgrrl AT gmail DOT com) and we’ll work it out.

6 Responses to “I’ve been dreading this post.”

  1. heathre said

    you rock wendy. i’m glad you are doing this – i call it a win-win, since we get some of your awesome art and get to feel all philanthropic. i wish i had a gazillion dollars but i can definitely swing a print or two to add to my collection xoxoxo love you!

  2. pete said

    i’ll be visiting your store and or placing a special order soon – in the meantime, I’m spreading the word about your awesomeness. I’ll be keeping some of your awesomeness to myself – cause I am a jealous and selfish fool – but SOME of your awesomeness will be shared 🙂

    i love you.

  3. wendy said

    ❤ Thank you both. Love.

  4. First, you are like my absolute hero. Second, you are the most talented photographer and just so darn freaking cool. There is a niche market for young groovy things like yourself who get cancer and want the ability to look cool and not like hazel the maid when they have cancer, who want very cool and badness cards about cancer to send to friends, who want ideas and want to learn to do makeup that makes them look fierce and normal during cancer and not like they penciled in fake eyebrowsand who want to bedazzle their heads and paint their ports. I was that girl and ached for what you did. You have such talent girl, make it happen, there is a way to make this happen you know that..a book, a line of products… in the meantime, i will be shopping on FB for sure… Lauren

  5. wendy said

    I am ON that, Lauren, seriously. In a way, this was good timing–at least I had the extra income when I really needed it because I couldn’t do much else. (well, I need it now, too–but at least I’m able to look for more work). So, you know…still a pretty lucky girl, I think. ❤ Thank you. 😀

    I made a few sales from this post (6 total), which is pretty awesome. Hopefully, more will trickle in–every little bit helps, I think. 😀

  6. […] had some really nice reactions to my last post and I want to thank everyone who helped and thank you to those who passed along the link.  I […]

Leave a Reply

 
