a little c

because I refuse to give it a big one

Sleep is my favorite

Posted by wendy on 2011/08/02

I’ve found that when I don’t know where to begin, it can be a good thing to just jump in and see where the writing takes me.  Today is one of those mornings.

I am so sleepy lately!  I took a pretty long nap on Sunday, and then I took a 2 hour nap yesterday, which is kind of unheard of for me. I’m not a huge “nap” person, you know?  Some  of it is just daily stress, I think (there’s a lot happening this week–we have a family reunion on Saturday, so the Michigan Contingent is takin’ over the state, thereby upping the ‘awesome’ quotient of Alabama to…well…I don’t really think of Alabama as ‘awesome’, so much as I think about it as “hot and swampy”, so I guess for one week, this state gets to be awesome in my mind.  But, even ‘awesome’ comes at a price, because I think all the excitement may have caught up with me.), and then financial stress* and then there is the Stress of Being Done.

It’s so funny to be stressed about being done–but, even though chemo is hard and sucky and radiation is a pain..you’re fighting, you know?  Every day, you are fighting to stay alive and you’re kicking cancer’s ass…but, then you wake up one day and you’re not fighting anymore.  If I’m not fighting, then what am I doing?  I vaguely recall having stuff to do before this happened to me, but damned if I can quite remember what that was, exactly.

This is very nearly a hairstyle.

My hair is still super short, but actually looks more ‘on purpose’ now than the ‘new hair’ look I was sporting.  And, I’m glad people like it and think it’s cute, but seriously, y’all–don’t get attached to the short hair!  I’m getting a lot of “keep it that way!”.   It’s not ‘me’.  And, frankly, I think short hair is harder than long hair.  When my hair was long, oh yeah–it was messy when I got out of bed in the morning, but it still looked good to me.  Short hair has a tendency to be either “cute” or “stupid” when you roll out of bed in the mornings. (Please note–I am referring to MY hair here, I have no idea what your hair does when you roll out of bed in the mornings.)  I really dislike having to fix my hair every day and I cannot wait for the days that I can fix it when I feel like it, or just run a brush through it and let that be  it.  And…eh.  I’m more ME when my hair is long.

So…I’ll be super busy with family stuff this week–if I’m not around much, please not to be worrying!  I’m having a great time being with my Grandma and everyone else.  The internets can wait.  😉

*I have no words for the people who purchased prints from me–“Thank you” feels all inadequate.  And, I’m pleased to hear that mpix labs did an excellent job and the prints look great, so that’s an even bigger source of ‘yay!’.  Because even though I am desperately in need of money, there is also this really fabulous sense of pleasure knowing that people are pleased with my images.  I also want to thank the people who couldn’t buy one, but passed the link on to others–I had a few sales that way as well, which was awesome.  I am so grateful for that.  If you’re just coming across this, you can click here (http://shimmyandshake.zenfolio.com) to buy my art and feel like a philanthropist while you do it.  woo!  I have had a bit of work come in, as well, which is going to be a big help next month, so I just have to get through August, I hope.

I’ve had a few people asking about just going through my paypal and purchasing digital prints, and I am totally okay with that–if you want to do that, just let me know what print you like, and I’ll send you a high-res image and you can pay me via paypal at skittishgrrlATgmailDOTcom.  And, if you can’t buy please keep sending people over if you can.  Thank you all so much.  ❤

3 Responses to “Sleep is my favorite”

  1. I feel you about the short hair! I loved it for a while, but I felt much more pressure to do something with my face when my hair was that short, and that’s a way bigger project than doing the hair. 🙂

  2. wendy said

    Oh, totally! I can’t leave the house without make up and I’m always dressed up now and I know it’s just me compensating for the hair. You’re so right–it is a WAY bigger project. heee.

  3. Sarahnoid said

    True Story: While I was working the front desk, 3 jobs ago, a woman came in with THE CUTEST shorty short blond hair. I love short hair on women. I even usually sport relatively short hair (but right now, I’m growing it for a switch up, and eventually it will all go to Locks of Love), but hers was the exact cut I love the most and can never have because I have unruly curls that refuse to behave. So I told her that I adored her hair and thought it looked awesome on her, was my fave haircut, etc. Turns out, it was her chemo regrowth. I had absolutely no idea. I think it made her day. Well, I know it did. She told me so.

    Anyway, your short hair is adorable, so at least know that while you grow it out to me more you, at least you still look fantastic! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
