a little c

because I refuse to give it a big one

Happy Cancerversary to me!

Posted by wendy on 2011/11/11

I STILL prefer wigs to my hair, which is curly like mad and drives me insane.

So, I feel like I should write something about today.  It’s pretty momentous.  It’s Veteran’s Day (Dear Veteran’s, Thank you for keeping me safe.  You guys are doing a bang-up job.).  It’s also 11/11/11 – the day of “ooooo”.  It’s also my cancerversary.  It’s also Day 3 of me being gainfully employed (ah, back to 2 jobs again–the way it’s intended).  Unfortunately I don’t particularly  FEEL like writing, so this is going to be more ‘update’ than ‘thoughtful blog post about my feelings’.

So, this time last year, I had cancer and was losing my job.  This year, I’m cancer-free and starting a new job (incidentally, my new job is literally in the same building as the old job–and, with many of the same people, as they hired a good many of us back).  My contract work is steady.  Those are good things.  I can see it’s going to take me a while to figure out how to balance all of it and still have a personal life–it feels like I’ve done nothing but work for the last 3 days.

I’m getting a da vinci in December.  I’m not particularly looking forward to more surgery, but I prefer a bit of pain now  to avoid a lot of pain later.  I’ve always been the girl who rips her band-aids off as quickly as possible.  Fast and painful trumps slow and painful every time.  ha.

I have been absent from this blog (badness!), I know–I’d like to say that I’m ‘concentrating on living!’, but really, I just spent most of October completely avoiding cancer-related stuff as much as I could.

I’d make a fine ostrich.

3 Responses to “Happy Cancerversary to me!”

  1. Lots to reflect on with such an auspicious date as 11/11/11. A year in the life indeed! So much change since last Nov. 11. Congrats on the job(s). YAY!

    I am with you on the “avoiding cancer-related” stuff. I am a most excellent ostrich myself. 😉

    -Renn

    PS Great pic!

  2. feistybluegecko said

    It is great to hear your update, and reaching that cancerversary milestone. What a memorable date for it too.

    I am so glad to hear that year is so different, and long may it continue.

    Big hugs
    Philippa 🙂

  3. Love the photo! Congrats on the cancerversary–you’ve come a long way, baby!

Leave a Reply

 
